## **UK Properties inscribed on the World Heritage List**

## The UK currently has 27 World Heritage Sites:

- Durham Cathedral and Castle (inscribed 1986)
- Castle and Town Walls of King Edward in Gwynedd (1986)
- Studley Royal Park including the ruins of Fountains Abbey (1986)
- St Kilda (1986 extended in 2004 and 2005) (natural and cultural)
- Giant's Causeway and Causeway coast (1986) (natural site)
- Ironbridge Gorge (1986)
- Stonehenge, Avebury and associated sites (1986)
- Blenheim Palace and Park (1987)
- Palace of Westminster, St Margaret's Church and Westminster Abbey (1987)
- City of Bath (1987)
- Frontiers of the Roman Empire: Hadrian's Wall (1987, extended in 2005)
- The Tower of London (1988)
- Canterbury Cathedral (with St Augustine's Abbey and St Martin's Church) (1988)
- Henderson Island, South Pacific Ocean (1988) (natural site)
- Edinburgh Old and New Towns (1995)
- Gough island Wildlife Reserve, South Atlantic Ocean (1995, extended 2004) (natural site)
- Maritime Greenwich (1997)
- Heart of Neolithic Orkney (1999)
- Historic Town of St George and Related Fortifications Bermuda (2000)
- Blaenavon Industrial Landscape (2000)
- Dorset and East Devon Coast (2001) (natural site)
- Derwent Valley Mills (2001)
- New Lanark (2001)

- Saltaire (2001)
- Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (2003)
- Liverpool Maritime Mercantile City (2004)
- Cornwall and East Devon Mining Landscape (2006)

## **Current Nomination**

The Darwin at Downe nomination will be considered by the World Heritage Committee in July 2007.

## **Future Nominations**

The Antonine Wall as an extension to the transnational Frontiers of the Roman Empire World Heritage Site will be submitted to UNESCO in January 2007 for consideration by the World Heritage Committee in June/July 2008.

Pontcysyllte Aqueduct will be submitted in January 2008 for consideration by the Committee in 2009

The Twin Monastery of Wearmouth and Jarrow will be submitted in January 2009 for consideration in 2010.